ADVERTISEMENT

Thinking of going into coaching..

Do it. I want to see how much different your opinion on officiating becomes Laughing.

Sounds fun. I'd love to get into officiating/umpiring or coaching.
My opinion on officiating isn't what most of you think. I just try to put things in perspective.
Where do you live? I could certainly help get you involved.
Note: My wife is 50/50 on it. She told me--"Remember when you coached Little League?"....Oh, yeah...I do. Also, r3member when you coached 8th grade basketball?

Yeah, yeah..

Good luck making your decision.

Our head varsity girls coach (I'm an assistant coach) just took an Elementary Principal job in another district so that job is open.

Still not sure if I want to apply for it or not. A lot of politics and outside stuff goes into being a head coach anymore. The coaching part wouldn't be my reservation.......

@IUfanBorden Henderson. Pretty sure I've read you went to USI so I'm sure you know where Henderson is. I know some people that could get me into little league but I'd rather learn and start at the Jr high or high School level. I'd have to get into better shape though.
Very familiar with Henderson. I actually lived for a short while. I went to East Heights, and played against Kenny Butts---One of the best to play at HC.

Got offered two jobs: JV coach for beseball....Frosh coach for hoops.
Giving it some thought.
Not sure how it is in Indiana but JV ball in Ky is a joke.
My son played JV ball 2 years ago as a 7th grader & it was a waste of time.
They play after varsity games only & usually only play 2-3 innings.

Do you not have to be a teacher to coach school sports? That’s how it was when I was growing up in Oklahoma.

Not sure how it is in Indiana but JV ball in Ky is a joke.
My son played JV ball 2 years ago as a 7th grader & it was a waste of time.
They play after varsity games only & usually only play 2-3 innings.