Just found a god damn SNAKE in my basement

hailtoyourvictor

Gold Member
Dec 11, 2012
W
T

I was going about my business about to call it a night when I noticed a small hose in the corner of the room behind my garbage can as I was heading upstairs.

wait.... what? Why is there a hose there? Let's take a closer loo.............WHAT???!

(not the actual snake but this is what it looked like and I've identified it as a harmless but terrifying Butler Garter Snake).

WHO ARE YOU AND WHY ARE YOU IN MY HOUSE? How did you even get in??? Please don't notice me. Please don't move. WHY ARE YOU IN MY HOUSE?

We are renting so I called my landlord and he removed it which is sweet. I've been renting this duplex for 16 months now and have never seen a dang snake. My landlord said this is a first for him (and he's owned the property for years). We have occasional bugs in the basement but that's expected. A snake though??? Should I be expecting to have another one of these run-ins in there near future or is this more likely just a random occurrence?

TL;DR
Found snake in my finished basement and want to avoid ever seeing a snake again

edit: I might have considered trying to remove it myself (lol probably not), but I rent a duplex and my landlord lives in the adjacent unit. He's always saying to not hesitate to call him if I had any problems with the house so I took him up on that offer this time.

Last edited:

hailtoyourvictor

Gold Member
Dec 11, 2012
posting this in a few places because hopefully someone somewhere is a snake whisperer or something

im ****ed

hailtoyourvictor

Gold Member
Dec 11, 2012
You seriously had to call the landlord to remove a garter snake? They're ****ing harmless.
Do. Not. Care.

For the record, I rent a duplex and my landlord leaves in the other unit and is always telling me to call him if I ever need anything. I picked up that phone pretty quick.

hailtoyourvictor

Gold Member
Dec 11, 2012