Calls (or No Calls) that irritate the bejeezus out of you

UNC71-00

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Feb 25, 2003
16,669
13,894
113
The one that is never called which happens all the time is the passer traveling on a dead ball inbounds play.

Watch how often the guy is shuffling his feet before throwing the ball in. That shit drives me crazy.

Why don't refs ever call that one Borden?
 

FaithPlusOne

Well-Known Member
Mar 18, 2017
519
535
93
How many moving screens are missed. It seems they're getting better at calling it, but many a 3 seem seem to drop because the guy was wide open from a moving screen.

Edit to add: I know you said "never called," but I think this is close enough because it happens so frequently and is usually missed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: brooky03

coryfly

Well-Known Member
Aug 7, 2007
43,762
4,782
113
How many moving screens are missed. It seems they're getting better at calling it, but many a 3 seem seem to drop because the guy was wide open from a moving screen.
Yeah, moving screens would be it for me. Teams do this all the time.
 

WheelerG

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Nov 20, 2002
4,065
164
83
Madison, WI
Team
Wisconsin
The one that is never called which happens all the time is the passer traveling on a dead ball inbounds play.

Watch how often the guy is shuffling his feet before throwing the ball in. That shit drives me crazy.

Why don't refs ever call that one Borden?
Not calling travelling in general anymore...guys switch pivot feet and take extra steps all the time now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: FaithPlusOne

IUfanBorden

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2011
24,278
9,123
113
Team
Indiana
The one that is never called which happens all the time is the passer traveling on a dead ball inbounds play.

Watch how often the guy is shuffling his feet before throwing the ball in. That shit drives me crazy.

Why don't refs ever call that one Borden?
First off, it's not a travel. Never has been. There are no pivot foot restrictions on a throw in. Thus, there cannot be a travel.
Secondly: On a throw in, the thrower has 3'(wide) he's allowed to move within; no depth restrictions. In other words, you can move on a spot throw. You just cannot go more than 3 feet to yur left or right.

So to answer your question---I'd say the reason you seldom see it called, is b/c in actuality, there's no violation. Most fans are not aware that you CAN move, even on a spot throw.
 

IUfanBorden

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2011
24,278
9,123
113
Team
Indiana
When a guy is standing straight with his hands up, gets ran straight into with a flop, and gets a foul.

Also tripping
Start to watch closely. I'm not saying these calls are right. But the slightest movement forward, or the slightest move of bringing your arms down, sometimes go unnoticed. You'll see a guy who appears to just be "standing there". Then you rewind it and see that he actually stepped into the defender, and/or his path. Same with a guy bringing his arms down.
 

IUfanBorden

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2011
24,278
9,123
113
Team
Indiana
Here's a call that gets me:

Defender reaches in, contacting ball handler, who then pushes off. Offensive foul gets called. I hate this call. I cannot tell you how many times I have been booed over NOT calling this an offensive foul. Coaches lose thier minds. They're like---"He pushed off". Im like, "yep, he sure did. But AFTER your guy reached in and tore off his arm".SmokinSmile
 
  • Like
Reactions: UNC71-00

UKBrassowTipIN

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2011
6,632
114
113
It' not always what's not called, it's when they call an off ball foul or something that affects the play in no way whatsoever.
 
  • Like
Reactions: IUfanBorden

FaithPlusOne

Well-Known Member
Mar 18, 2017
519
535
93
First off, it's not a travel. Never has been. There are no pivot foot restrictions on a throw in. Thus, there cannot be a travel.
Secondly: On a throw in, the thrower has 3'(wide) he's allowed to move within; no depth restrictions. In other words, you can move on a spot throw. You just cannot go more than 3 feet to yur left or right.

So to answer your question---I'd say the reason you seldom see it called, is b/c in actuality, there's no violation. Most fans are not aware that you CAN move, even on a spot throw.
I always thought that if it's after a make, you can move along the baseline. If it's not then you must be stationary.

Guess I had that one wrong.
 

RR30

Well-Known Member
Sep 16, 2013
3,264
2,855
113
Team
Kentucky
99% of the charge calls. You should not be able to slide under an attacking player to draw a foul. That is dangerous and not fvcking defense at all. It's just rewarding people that aren't good enough to play actual defense.
 

IUfanBorden

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2011
24,278
9,123
113
Team
Indiana
99% of the charge calls. You should not be able to slide under an attacking player to draw a foul. That is dangerous and not fvcking defense at all. It's just rewarding people that aren't good enough to play actual defense.
Drama queen....:D
 

IUfanBorden

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2011
24,278
9,123
113
Team
Indiana
I always thought that if it's after a make, you can move along the baseline. If it's not then you must be stationary.

Guess I had that one wrong.
Nope. You can move. Just cannot move more than three feet to your left or right. That is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. And if you do, its not a travel. Just a throw in violation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UNC71-00

hailtoyourvictor

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Dec 11, 2012
24,987
11,450
113
Nope. You can move. Just cannot move more than three feet to your left or right. That is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. And if you do, its not a travel. Just a throw in violation.
I don’t think it’s that widely misunderstood. 3 feet is about one stride. Moving more than 1 stride is a violation. Pretty simple.
 

Danger 35 Zone

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Nov 26, 2016
237
240
93
I don't care about calls or non calls as long as they are calling it the same on both ends. That's all I ask for
 
  • Like
Reactions: KyFaninNC

UNC71-00

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Feb 25, 2003
16,669
13,894
113
First off, it's not a travel. Never has been. There are no pivot foot restrictions on a throw in. Thus, there cannot be a travel.
Secondly: On a throw in, the thrower has 3'(wide) he's allowed to move within; no depth restrictions. In other words, you can move on a spot throw. You just cannot go more than 3 feet to yur left or right.

So to answer your question---I'd say the reason you seldom see it called, is b/c in actuality, there's no violation. Most fans are not aware that you CAN move, even on a spot throw.
And there you have it. One of life's mysteries solved.
 

UNC71-00

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Feb 25, 2003
16,669
13,894
113
Nope. You can move. Just cannot move more than three feet to your left or right. That is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. And if you do, its not a travel. Just a throw in violation.
Does a throw in violation turn the ball over same as a travel would?
 

kyjeff1

Well-Known Member
Sep 8, 2012
4,425
3,348
113
When a guy is standing straight with his hands up, gets ran straight into with a flop, and gets a foul.

Also tripping
This X 100. How are big guys supposed ro play defense? All they're allowed to do is stand still and wall straight up. That's a joke, they are not actually allowed to use their size to their advantage. Better not even try to jump or curl your hands down.
All veteran college players know this, so they just jump into the defender and get the call. I hate it.
 

KyFaninNC

Well-Known Member
Mar 14, 2005
16,778
548
113
Player A grabs a rebound, player B behind him reaches over and slaps the ball out of bounds, ball is given to player B. Now, either player B knocked the ball out of bounds, OR player B fouled player A by hitting his hand, thus making the ball go out of bounds. This is never got right.

Palming the ball is NEVER called, and most guards palm it, otherwise they could NOT dribble the way they do.
 

Hank_

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Mar 31, 2017
1,373
1,981
113
The classic, official makes god awful call, then doubles down by calling a T on the coach for losing his mind over it.
 

sweetlou_7

Well-Known Member
Gold Member
Jan 3, 2007
55
50
18
Offensive player barrels into a defensive player in the paint who is standing or jumping straight up, playing perfect defense, and it gets called a block. If we're going to call every touch foul on the defense, at least reward them when they play perfect defense. Overall, college officiating is really negatively impacting the game.
 

SoundSlave

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2007
30,296
1,374
113
Chicago, IL

Ref looking right at UNC player who is standing on the line(both feet were on the line at one point).....and no call. It's out of my system now; ready to move on.
 

KyFaninNC

Well-Known Member
Mar 14, 2005
16,778
548
113
I have seen this two times with UNC players when they were playing two different teams, and I wondered both times, is that official blind or biased?